I Changed My Name But I’m Still Me

Jessica Smith
2 min readDec 28, 2021

Just FYI

Hello to all of my followers! I’m almost at the 1.5k mark and I’m pretty excited about that. Thank you all for all the reads and claps. You’re the best!

I realized about a month ago that I have 3 different names going on the platforms I use. Here I was Jessica Hillis because that’s my name. On Facebook I’m Jessica Smith because that’s my married name. On Twitter I’m “Just another Jessica”.

I’m thinking I need some more consistency. I share my work on Facebook and Twitter so I thought the names should match up with my Medium profile.

I’ve changed Hillis to Smith here. I’ll keep my profile picture the same because let’s be honest, that’s one of the first things you look for, not the name.

So now “Jessica Hillis” is “Jessica Smith”. Same person, same stories, just a different name. I’m sure we all know how name changes work!

I’ll be “Just Another Jessica Smith” on Twitter because could you get a more common name? I don’t even want to know how many people have this name. Come follow me there if you want!

Anyway, just a little FYI in case you got thrown off by a random name change. I look forward to writing and reading in 2022!

--

--

Jessica Smith

Writer and mother. I write about whatever pops into my head. Relationships, Self, Mental Health, Parenting, Whatever. https://twitter.com/3282jessicah